TU inaugurates new management team

TU inaugurates new management team
Geneva, 14 January 2011 - ITU today inaugurated its new management team of five elected officials who will lead the organization over the next four years.
The team comprises Secretary-General Dr Hamadoun Touré and Deputy Secretary-General Mr Houlin Zhao, who are both serving second four-year teams after being re-elected to their posts by ITU’s 2010 Plenipotentiary Conference in Guadalajara, Mexico.

It also comprises the Directors of ITU’s three Bureaux: Mr Malcolm Johnson, Director of the Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, Mr François Rancy, Director of the Radiocommunication Bureau, and Mr Brahima Sanou, Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau.

Mr Johnson commences his second term of office, following his re-election at PP-10. Mr Rancy and Mr Sanou were both newly elected to their posts in Guadalajara.

Speaking at today’s official inauguration ceremony at ITU headquarters in Geneva, Dr Touré said: “We are most fortunate in having a new management team that brings together a healthy mix of continuity and experience on the one hand, and fresh thinking and new ideas on the other . . . We have a very busy four years ahead of us. But we also have a very exciting four years ahead, full of tremendous opportunities and giving each and every one of us the chance to play our part in making the world a better place through wider use of ICTs.”

The inauguration ceremony was attended by the Minister of Communication and Information Technology of Mali, Ms Diarra Miriam Flantié Diallo; Mr Robert Hensler, representing the Republic and Canton of Geneva; top-level representatives from other UN agencies; ambassadors from national missions based in Geneva; and other high-level guests, including former ITU Secretary-General Mr Mohamed Mili (1967-1982). Representatives from ITU staff were also present.
Jan 26, 2011 07:26


Sender name is required
Email is required
Characters left: 500
Comment is required